kaylanicole

A new chapter | August 26, 2010

In 10 days, I will be leaving America’s High Five to begin my first semi-grown up adventure. Now, I’ll be living with roommates, and not working a “real” job, which is why I’m calling it semi-grown up. However, I will be living more than 30 minutes away from any member of my family, which is a big deal for this brand new college graduate.

Starting after Labor Day, I will begin pre-service training for Americorps St. Louis, which will be the kick off to a year of service. I’ll be serving as a member of the Emergency Response Team (ERT). I’m not totally sure what I’ll be doing for the next year, but I’ve been told I’ll need wool socks. I feel those will be akin to Ford Prefect’s towel, though maybe with less uses.

Now, however, this grand adventure awaits! First, I need to finish “organizing” and packing. The parents are being utterly fantastic and helping me move, plus getting a small vacation out of the deal. In order to earn this awesome favor though, I need to make sure I don’t leave their house without my all my stuff laying about for at least a year. I may come back with it all thrown out.  Well, I may come back to that either way…

Anyway! Time for some new beginnings! Let’s see how well this blog chronicles my time learning how to respond to disasters, conserve the environment, and explore St. Louis, MO, and beyond.

This should be fun.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

